Skip to content

Fair and Class Recap

October 12, 2011

Being a little constrained on time, today I just have to brag a little bit.  🙂

 

I entered my Yule Log cake to the decoration contest at the Fresno Fair – and it fetched me a blue ribbon!  This is my second one, after my braided Easter bread brought one home last year.  My pickles didn’t quite fare so well, but they did make it to the exhibit, which is still a feat in this competition.

Yule Log

Blue Ribbon winner!!!

 

I was a little disappointed in the looks of the cake once down there – there was an electrical failure, and all cakes in the coolers got a little “tired”, hence no picture from the Fair itself.

On another note, I saw a lot of awesome cakes and ideas – next year I’ll probably enter in wedding cakes, and maybe others as well…  Any ideas?

 

I have also taught the first session of my bread making class through Fresno Adult School.  It seemed everyone had a lot of fun making dinner rolls – I completely forgot to take pictures with the rush of last-minute sign-ups and helping people work their dough!  I will get some pictures together next week, when we make loaf breads.  For Fresno area readers – there are still spots for November!  Link to the sign-up here.

All in all, I’m really excited about all these – good times!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 13:41

    Congratulations! Bravo, Bûche de Noël!

  2. Jack permalink
    October 12, 2011 12:58

    Congrats on your second blue ribbon! 😀 You should definitely go for the wedding cake competition next year.

    Glad that all is going well with your class. Looking forward to the pics. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Not For Your Fireplace « And Cuisine For All

Leave a Reply

